Thursday, May 1, 2014

What an honor!

National Honor Society inducts 44 this year

By: Lexi Martin

   Induction into the National Honor Society is one of the biggest achievements students can achieve in their high school careers. Each year, Ripley High School inducts juniors and seniors with at least a 3.6 cumulative GPA and well-rounded characteristics. NHS hands out applications every spring for promising students who have enough qualifications to be potentially inducted to the Honor Society.

   Unfortunately, all of the people who get applications cannot be inducted but the people who are accepted, are lucky. Being inducted is definitely something to be proud of. Usually, the inductees are mostly juniors and a few seniors and this year was no different. To be considered for induction is a tremendous honor. Being taken in as a member is something to be truly proud of.The members of the Honor Society take part in the Adopt-A-Family, fundraisers, and the Ripley High School blood drive, community service, and other activities.

   “Each year the Society takes part in two service projects, Adopt-A-Family, and a community project,” adviser Elizabeth Sayre said.

   The induction ceremony was held April 18 in the auditorium. After saying the Pledge of Allegiance, Principal Will Hosaflook spoke about the importance of the Honor Society and the Light Brigade. The Light Brigade is Ripley’s chapter of the Honor Society, but each school is different. Following, senior officers President Anna Robinson, Vice President Nathan Tucker, Secretary Brittani Hancock, Treasurer Erica Gibson, and Historian Sarah Williams spoke about what it (characteristics, service, leadership, and character) means to be a member of the Society and what the exact requirements are asked of a new member. Finally, Assistant Principals Jeff Banton and Bev Shatto inducted the new members.

   The 2014 inductees are: Caisie Adcock, Tori Anderson, Christy Armentrout, Cody Bailey, Callan Banks, Lindsey Boggess, Meghan Brannon, Jared Casto, Sydney Casto, Abby Edwards, Sarah Evans, Holly Farkosh, Jacob Fields, Megan Frampton, Matt Groves, Kelli Hinzman, Rebecca Joyce, Jacob Kay, Elizabeth King, Kailee Mann, FaytheMaston, Justin McKown, Candace Mellon, EldrickMillares, Tuckey Miller, Lucas Myers, Caleigh Neil, Sapphire Parsons, Levi Phillips, ArinShatto, Arik Sheets, Samantha Shin, Katherine Simmons, BryAna Stearns, MandeeStudivon, Trevor Tucker, Jack Victory, Tara Waller, Brandon Well, Sarah Welling, Perri Williams, Seth Wilson, Wes Withrow, and Katlyn Yates, eight of which are seniors.

   “It’s an honor, and I am truly blessed to be part of it,” junior inductee Caisie Adcock said.

No comments:

Post a Comment