Wednesday, January 4, 2017

Ophiuchus changes zodiac signs

By: Katie Bailey

  The National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) has identified a 13th sign of the zodiac between Sagittarius and Scorpius. Ophiuchus (Latin name for serpent bearer) appears in the middle of the Serpens constellation.

  Analyzing the position of the planets, sun, and moon on the Ecliptic (the sun’s path through the year) when you are born, gives you your chosen zodiac sign. The zodiac is made up of 13 constellations that line the recurring path of the sun across the sky. Of the 13, 12 zodiac signs have been used. Each sign has its own strengths and weaknesses, specific traits, desires, and attitudes toward life and people.  

  The announcement of this ‘new’ zodiac has caused a stir on social media, everyone believing they have been reading their signs wrong for countless years. Ophiuchus is home to a number of star clusters, including M10, which is only 20,000 light-years from Earth. This means that if you wanted to reach this star, you would have to travel 20,000 years at the speed of light without stopping to get there.
  Over 3,000 years ago, the Babylonians divided the zodiac into 12 equal parts. They chose 12 constellations in the zodiac to fit their already made 12-month calendar.
  NASA claims they have not changed the signs but have just calculated what the Babylonians found thousands of years before. They simply recalculated what the Babylonians chose to ignore.
 “According to the Babylonians' own ancient stories, there were 13 constellations in the zodiac,” wrote NASA. “So the Babylonians picked one, Ophiuchus, to leave out. Even then, some of the chosen 12 didn't fit neatly into their assigned slice and slopped over into the next one.”
  When adding Ophiuchus, the new zodiac becomes: Capricorn: Jan 20 – Feb 16, Aquarius: Feb 16 – March 11, Pisces: March 11 – April 18, Aries: April 18 – May 13, Taurus: May 13 – June 21, Gemini: June 21 – July 20, Cancer: July 20 – Aug 10, Leo: Aug 10 – Sept 16, Virgo: Sept 16 – Oct 30, Libra: Oct 30 – Nov 23, Scorpio: Nov 23 – Nov 29, Ophiuchus: Nov 29 – Dec 17, Sagittarius: Dec 17 – Jan 20.

  Ophiuchus traits include a righteous defiance of authority, a willingness to sacrifice, a rebellious nature, are secretive, seekers of knowledge and holders of wisdom. Many have decided to keep their traditional horoscope and some like the change. Ultimately, the decision is up to you as to whether you keep your horoscope or change with the new information found.

No comments:

Post a Comment